South-Central Early Learning Hub


Our Region



The South-Central Early Learning Hub consists of  three counties and two local Tribes in Southern Oregon:

Douglas   –     Klamath     –    Lake
Cow Creek Band of Umpqua Tribe of Indians
The Klamath Tribes
– Klamath, Modoc, and Yahooskin






Population of Children Ages 0-5

10,032 children across our region of 19,628 square miles.

Total # of Children Ages 0-5:
       Douglas County: 5,556
       Klamath County: 4,059
       Lake County: 417

At or Below 100% Federal Poverty Level Ages 0-5
       Douglas County: 33.96%
       Klamath County: 27.4%
       Lake County: 56.3%



Priority Population Based on the Data

  • Children/families living in areas of geographic isolation including experiencing poverty.
  • Children who are experiencing displacement: homeless families, children in foster care, and children in kinship care.
  • Children who are experiencing physical or developmental disabilities or delays, including those with mental health concerns and/or trauma
  • Hispanic/Latinx
  • Tribal/Native American
  • Infants and children aged 0-2 

Partner Links
The links to our Partners in Douglas, Klamath and Lake Counties. The following links are external unless otherwise noted. 

Defining Early Childhood Acronyms in Our Region

AEYC – Association for the Education of Young Children (Also NAEYC – National and OAEYC – Oregon)

ASQ – Ages Stages Questionnaire

CAC – Community Advisory Council (Used by Umpqua Health and Cascade Health)

CCO – Coordinated Care Organization

CCRR or CCR&R – Child Care Resource and Referral

CHA – Cascade Health Alliance CI – Children’s Institute

COSA – Confederation of Oregon School Administrators

CQI – Continuous Quality Improvement

DESD – Douglas Education Service District

DHS – Department of Human Services

ECE – Early Care and Education

ECSE – Early Childhood Special Education

EI – Early Intervention

ELD – Early Learning Division

ELC – Early Learning Council

ELH – Early Learning Hub

ELL – English Language Learners

ELRS – Early Learning Reporting System

FASN – Family Advocacy and Support Network

FCCN – Family Child Care Network

FDC – Family Development Center

FRF – Family Resource Facilitator

IDD – Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities

KBBH – Klamath Basin Behavioral Health

KCC – Klamath Community College

KPI – Kindergarten Partnership and Innovation

MIECHV – Maternal Infant and Early Childhood Home Visiting


MOU – Memorandum of Understanding

ODE – Oregon Department of Education

OHA – Oregon Health Authority

OHP – Oregon Health Plan

OPIP – Oregon Pediatric Improvement Partnership

PAC – Professional Advisory Committee

PD – Professional Development

PRE – Pacific Research and Evaluation PSP or PP – Preschool Promise

PSU – Portland State University

QIP – Quality Improvement Plan

QRIS – Quality Rating and Improvement System

RFA – Request for Application

RGC – Regional Governance Council

SCELH – South-Central Early Learning Hub

SD – School District

TFFF – The Ford Family Foundation

UCAN – United Community Action Network

UCC – Umpqua Community College

UHA or UH – Umpqua Health Alliance

WIC – Women Infants and Children

WOU – Western Oregon University

YEW – Yoncalla Early Works


Who We Are

Our Services

Our Guiding Groups

Our Region

Contact us

South-Central Early Learning Hub

Douglas Education Service District

1871 NE Stephens Street
Roseburg, OR 97470